NCAA Appoints Presidents to Panel on Future of Sports

50 chief executives will work to solve problems regarding finances, academic values and athletes' welfare.
May 12, 2005

What do you get when you put 50 college presidents in a room? Solutions to the problems in big-time college sports, the National Collegiate Athletic Association hopes.

Myles Brand, the NCAA's president, on Wednesday identified the members of the imposingly named Presidential Task Force on the Future of Division I Intercollegiate Athletics, which he proposed creating in January. Brand said at the time that he was not creating the panel because of "looming crisis to which this group must attend." Instead, he said, "this will be the exercise of prudent leadership to address trends that if left unattended could undermine the goals of higher education and damage the collegiate model of athletics."

Peter Likins, president of the University of Arizona, will oversee the entire committee, which will meet for the first time June 9-10 in Tucson, Ariz., to "develop a list of what it deems the most pressing problems facing intercollegiate athletics," the NCAA news release said.

But the panel's work will be undertaken mostly by four subcommittees focused on particular topics: "implications of academic values and standards," "fiscal responsibility," "presidential leadership of internal and external constituencies," and "student-athlete well being."

The four panels and their chairs and members are:

Implications of Academic Values and Standards
Larry Faulkner, president, U. of Texas at Austin, chair
Michael Adams, president, U. of Georgia
Donald Beggs, president, Wichita State U.
Scott Cowen, president, Tulane U.
Shirley Ann Jackson, president, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Benjamin Ladner, president, American U.
William Lennox, superintendent, U.S. Military Academy
Mark Murray, president, Grand Valley State U.
Norval Pohl, president, U. of North Texas
Phillip Stone, president, Bridgewater College (Va.)
John Welty, president, California State U. at Fresno
James Wright, president, Dartmouth College

Fiscal Responsibility
Peter Likins, U. of Arizona, chair
Clinton Bristow Jr., president, Alcorn State U.
Philip Dubois, president, U. of Wyoming
David Hardesty Jr., West Virginia U.
Walter Harrison, president, U. of Hartford
Robert Hemenway, chancellor, U. of Kansas
Peter Magrath, president, National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges
Kathryn Martin, chancellor, U. of Minnesota Duluth
Sidney McPhee, president, Middle Tennessee State U.
James Moeser, chancellor, U. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
David Skorton, president, U. of Iowa
John Walda, partner, Bose, McKinney and Evans
John Wiley, chancellor, U. of Wisconsin at Madison

Presidential Leadership of Internal and External Constituencies
R. Gerald Turner, president, Southern Methodist U., chair
Philip Austin, president, U. of Connecticut
Robert Caret, president, Towson U.
Carol Cartwright, president, Kent State U.
Gordon Gee, chancellor, Vanderbilt U.
Judy Genshaft, president, U. of South Florida
George Hagerty, president, Franklin Pierce College
Kermit Hall, president, State U. of New York at Albany
Robert Kustra, president, Boise State U.
Robert Lawless, president emeritus, U. of Tulsa
Graham Spanier, president, Pennsylvania State U.
John White, chancellor, U. of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Student-Athlete Well-Being
Karen Holbrook, president, Ohio State U., chair
Richard Celeste, president, Colorado College
Jack Jewett, regent, U. of Arizona
Robert Khayat, chancellor, U. of Mississippi
William Meehan, president, Jacksonville State U.
Eddie Moore Jr., president, Virginia State U.
Carl Patton, president, Georgia State U.
Larry Penley, president, Colorado State U.
Thomas Powell, president, Mount St. Mary's U.
Shirley Raines, president, U. of Memphis
Kenneth (Buzz) Shaw, chancellor emeritus, Syracuse U.
Nancy Zimpher, president, U. of Cincinnati


Back to Top