4 Win Fields Medals

August 20, 2010

Four scholars were named Thursday as winners of Fields Medals, awarded every four years during meetings of the International Congress of Mathematicians to honor the best work in mathematics by those under the age of 40. The winners for 2010:

  • Elon Lindenstrauss of Hebrew University (Israel)
  • Ngô Bảo Châu of Université Paris-Sud (France)
  • Stanislav Smirnov of Université de Genève (Switzerland)
  • Cédric Villani of Institut Henri Poincaré (France)

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

Back to Top