Obama Honors Science Mentors

January 24, 2011

President Obama on Friday named 11 individuals and 4 organizations as recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring.

The individuals are:

  • Richard L. Cardenas of St. Mary’s University in Texas.
  • Anthony Carpi of John Jay College of Criminal Justice of the City University of New York.
  • Isaac J. Crumbly of Fort Valley State University.
  • Jo Handelsman of Yale University.
  • Douglass L. Henderson of the University of Wisconsin at Madison.
  • Bruce A. Jackson of Massachusetts Bay Community College.
  • Marigold L. Linton of the University of Kansas.
  • Maja J. Matarić of the University of Southern California.
  • Gerard F. R. Parkin of Columbia University.
  • Julio J. Ramirez of Davidson College.
  • Michelle A. Williams of the University of Washington.

The four organizational efforts honored are:

  • The Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education at Stevens Institute of Technology.
  • The Baccalaureate and Beyond Community College Mentoring Program at the State University of New York at Purchase.
  • The Grinnell Science Project, at Grinnell College. (An Inside Higher Ed profile of that project may be found here.)
  • The Women in Science and Engineering Mentoring Initiatives at the Center for Research on Women and Gender at the University of Illinois at Chicago, IL
+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

What Others Are Reading

  • Viewed
  • Past:
  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Year
Back to Top