Obama Announces Humanities Medals for 2010

March 2, 2011

President Obama on Tuesday named the 10 winners of the National Humanities Medal for 2010. They are:

  • Daniel Aaron, the Victor S. Thomas Professor of English and American Literature Emeritus at Harvard University.
  • Bernard Bailyn, Adams University Professor at Harvard University.
  • Jacques Barzun, former dean and provost at Columbia University.
  • Wendell E. Berry, the poet and novelist.
  • Roberto González Echevarría, Sterling Professor of Hispanic and Comparative Literatures at Yale University.
  • Stanley N. Katz, director of the Princeton University Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies.
  • Joyce Carol Oates, the author.
  • Arnold Rampersad, biographer and professor and former associate dean at Stanford University.
  • Philip Roth, the novelist.
  • Gordon S. Wood, the Alva O. Way University Professor and Professor of History Emeritus at Brown University.

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

What Others Are Reading

  • Viewed
  • Past:
  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Year
Back to Top