8 Southern Institutions Form New Athletic Conference

June 8, 2011

Eight members of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference are leaving that group to form their own conference. The eight colleges are all residential liberal arts institutions in Division III of the National Collegiate Athletic Association. They cited a desire to save time and money on travel by having a conference of closer geographic focus than the SCAC, which includes institutions in Texas, Colorado and Indiana. The members forming a new (not yet named) conference are: Berry, Birmingham-Southern, Centre, Hendrix, Millsaps and Rhodes Colleges; Oglethorpe University and the University of the South.

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

What Others Are Reading

  • Viewed
  • Past:
  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Year
Back to Top