Obama Honors 10 With National Medal of Science

October 6, 2014

President Obama on Friday announced 10 recipients of the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest honor in science.

The winners are:

  • Bruce Alberts, University of California at San Francisco
  • Robert Axelrod, University of Michigan
  • May Berenbaum, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • David Blackwell, University of California at Berkeley (awarded posthumously)
  • Alexandre J. Chorin, University of California at Berkeley
  • Thomas Kailath, Stanford University, CA
  • Judith P. Klinman, University of California at Berkeley
  • Jerrold Meinwald, Cornell University
  • Burton Richter, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and Stanford University
  • Sean C. Solomon, Columbia University

More information and links on the winners may be found here.


Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

Back to Top