Commencement Speakers Announced: Bryant, Clark, College of Saint Benedict, Hudson County CC, Mount Aloysius, Mount St. Mary's, Old Dominion, Saint Michael’s, San Jose State, Thomas Aquinas, Union, U. of Maine at Farmington, Wheeling Jesuit, WPI

May 2, 2012

The following colleges and universities have announced their commencement speakers for spring 2012:

  • Bryant University: Jeffrey Sachs, director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University.
  • Clark University: Carol Geary Schneider, president of the Association of American Colleges and Universities.
  • College of Saint Benedict: Anne Thompson, NBC News' chief environmental affairs correspondent.
  • Hudson County Community College: Walter G. Bumphus, president of the American Association of Community Colleges.
  • Mount Aloysius College: Judge D. Brooks Smith of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.
  • Mount St. Mary's College: Sandy Banks, a columnist for The Los Angeles Times.
  • Old Dominion University: Les Payne, a reporter and former columnist for Newsday; Wendy Bahr, senior vice president of Global and Strategic Partners for the Worldwide Partner Organization for Cisco; and Jack J. Ross, president and chief operating officer with Dominion Enterprises.
  • Saint Michael’s College: Tom Freston, founder and former CEO of MTV Networks, and now adviser to Oprah Winfrey and her OWN Network and to Bono in his charity and advocacy work in Africa.
  • San Jose State University: Jenny J. Ming, president and chief executive officer of Charlotte Russe Holding Inc.
  • Thomas Aquinas College: Mother Mary Assumpta Long, the foundress and prioress general of the Dominican Sisters of Mary.
  • Union College, in New York: Dylan Ratigan, host of a talk show on MSNBC.
  • University of Maine at Farmington: Wesley McNair, Maine Poet Laureate and University of Maine at Farmington professor emeritus and writer in residence.
  • Wheeling Jesuit University: The Rev. James O'Brien, a professor of philosophy at the university.
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute: Roger W. Ferguson Jr., president and CEO of TIAA-CREF.



Back to Top