Commencement Speakers Announced: Adelphi, Corcoran, Delaware Tech, Doane, Fashion Institute, Howard, Kalamazoo, LaGrange, Le Moyne, Mount St. Mary's, Ohio Dominican, Our Lady of Holy Cross, Shaw, St. Catherine U.

May 14, 2012

The following colleges and universities have announced their commencement speakers for spring 2012:

  • Adelphi University: Carmen Ortiz, U.S. Attorney in Massachusetts.
  • Corcoran College of Art: João Silva, the photojournalist.
  • Delaware Technical Community College: Major Melissa G. Brown of the Dover Air Force Base; Cindy L. Szabo, a lawyer; and Brigadier General Carol A. Timmons of the Delaware National Guard.
  • Doane College: Bryan Alexander, senior fellow at the National Institute for Technology in Liberal Education.
  • Fashion Institute of Technology of the State University of New York: Leslie Blodgett, creator of bareMinerals and executive chairman of Bare Escentuals, and Davin Stowell, founder and CEO of Smart Design.
  • Howard University: Arne Duncan, the U.S. secretary of education.
  • Kalamazoo College: Linda Rae Murray, past president of American Public Health Association and chief medical officer of Cook County (Ill.) Department of Public Health.
  • LaGrange (Ga.) College: J. Robert Kerrey, former governor and senator from Nebraska.
  • Le Moyne College: John B. King Jr., commissioner of education for New York State.
  • Mount St. Mary's University, in Maryland: Veryl Victoria Miles, Dean and professor of law at the Catholic University of America.
  • Ohio Dominican University: Gene T. Harris, superintendent and CEO of Columbus City Schools.
  • Our Lady of Holy Cross College: Rev. Anthony F. Rigoli, pastor of Our Lady of Guadalupe Church, in New Orleans.
  • Shaw University: Thomas W. Dortch Jr., chairman emeritus of 100 Black Men of America, Inc. and chairman and CEO of TWD, Inc.
  • St. Catherine University, in Minnesota: Karen Hsiao Ashe, director of the N. Bud Grossman Center for Memory Research and Care at the University of Minnesota; Toné Blechert, executive director for the College for Applied and Continuing Learning at the university; and Kathleen O’Brien, vice president for university services at the University of Minnesota.


Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


Back to Top