Commencement Speakers Announced: Berkeley College, Carroll, Claremont Graduate U, College of Charleston, Hiram, Hollins, Johnson C. Smith, Merrimack, Otterbein, St. Edward's, U of Connecticut, WPI

April 13, 2016

The following colleges have announced their commencement speakers for spring 2016:

  • Berkeley College: Mildred García, president of California State University at Fullerton.
  • Carroll University: Ricardo Diaz, executive director of the United Community Center in Milwaukee.
  • Claremont Graduate University: Tim Brown, CEO and president of IDEO.
  • College of Charleston: U.S. Air Force Secretary Deborah Lee James; Michael Luttig, executive vice president of the Boeing Company; and Mike Couick, president and CEO of the Electric Cooperatives of South Carolina.
  • Hiram College: Jan Hopkins, former CNN news anchor.
  • Hollins University: Ann Compton, the journalist.
  • Johnson C. Smith University: Oprah Winfrey, the media giant.
  • Lawrence University: Lan Samantha Chang, director of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop.
  • Merrimack College: Barbara Pierce Bush, founder of Global Health Corps; and Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker.
  • Otterbein University: Donna James, managing director of Lardon & Associates.
  • St. Edward’s University: Richard Ekman, president of the Council of Independent Colleges.
  • University of Connecticut: France A. Córdova, director of the National Science Foundation; Judge Christopher F. Droney and others.
  • Worcester Polytechnic Institute: Reshma Saujani, founder and president of Girls Who Code; and France A. Córdova, director of the National Science Foundation.


Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


Back to Top