A New Class of MacArthur 'Genius' Awards

September 25, 2013

Academics were among the new class of MacArthur Fellows named this morning. The fellowship -- for which one can't apply and for which one receives $625,000 over five years, no strings attached -- is commonly called the "genius" award. The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation named 24 winners, including Colin Camerer, a behavioral economist at the California Institute of Technology; Craig Fennie, a materials scientist at Cornell University; and Sara Seager, an astrophysicist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.


Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.



Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

Back to Top