Nobel in Literature

October 10, 2019

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature was named this morning as Olga Tokarczuk "for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life."

And the 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature was named this morning as Peter Handke "for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience."

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Literature was not awarded amid a scandal over alleged conflicts of interest, sexual harassment and sexual assault involving a man (since convicted of rape) married to a member of the Swedish Academy. The Nobel Foundation's board said that the 2018 and 2019 prizes would both be announced this fall. Further, the foundation said that new procedures were in place, including requirements that the academy "no longer includes any members who are subject to conflict of interest or criminal investigations."

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

Back to Top