3 Share Nobel in Physics

October 6, 2009

The 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics is being shared by three researchers. Half of the award is going to Charles K. Kao of the Standard Telecommunication Laboratories, in Britain, and the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He was honored for "groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication." The other half will be shared by Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith, both of Bell Laboratories, "for the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor."

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

What Others Are Reading

  • Viewed
  • Past:
  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Year
Back to Top