Obama Announces 2011 National Humanities Medals
February 13, 2012

President Obama on Friday announced the recipients of the 2011 National Humanities Medals:

  • Kwame Anthony Appiah, a professor of philosophy at Princeton University.
  • John Ashbery, the poet.
  • Robert Darnton, a professor of history and librarian at Harvard University.
  • Andrew Delbanco, professor of humanities at Columbia University.
  • Charles Rosen, the music writer.
  • Teofilo Ruiz, a professor of history and chair of Spanish and Portuguese at the University of California at Los Angeles.
  • Ramón Saldívar, a professor of English and comparative literature at Stanford University.
  • Amartya Sen, a professor of economics and philosophy at Harvard University.

Complete biographies of the winners may be found here.

Search for Jobs


  • Viewed
  • Commented
  • Past:
  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Year
Back to Top