New Chairs for House Committees

November 29, 2012

Republicans in the House of Representatives nominated congressmen for leadership positions Wednesday, including several for key posts related in some way to higher education. Representative Lamar Smith of Texas will be the new chair of the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology. Representative John Kline, a Minnesota Republican, will stay the chairman of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. And although he has reached the six-year term limit, House Republicans tapped Representative Paul Ryan, the former vice presidential candidate and the author of a budget considered likely to cut higher education, to continue as chairman of the Budget Committee.

Committee leadership for the Democrat-controlled Senate have not yet been announced for the next Congress, which takes office in January.

Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


+ -

Expand commentsHide comments  —   Join the conversation!

Opinions on Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed’s Blog U

Back to Top