You have /5 articles left.
Sign up for a free account or log in.

Eight grant-making foundations on Thursday announced the formation of the Open Research Funders Group, an effort to promote sharing of articles and data between researchers and organizations. The founding members, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the American Heart Association, the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the John Templeton Foundation, the Laura and John Arnold Foundation, Open Society Foundations, and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, confer nearly $5 billion in annual grants between them, and said in a press release that they intend to "speak with a single voice regarding open access, open data and open science." Membership in the group is open to any nonprofit organization that conducts or funds scholarly research and is open about its grant recipients and review procedures.