Commencement Speakers Announced: Alfred, Clatsop CC, Cooper Union, Gallaudet, Georgia Health Sciences, Hampden-Sydney, Lindsey Wilson, Marlboro, Ohio Northern, Susquehanna, U. of Maryland-Baltimore, U. of Texas-Arlington, U. of Wisconsin at Stevens Point

May 7, 2012

The following colleges and universities have announced their commencement speakers for spring 2012:

  • Alfred University: David Miller, a lawyer and a member of the university's board.
  • Clatsop Community College: U.S. Representative Suzanne Bonamici.
  • Cooper Union: Walter Isaacson, the biographer.
  • Gallaudet University: Markku Juhani Jokinen, president of the World Federation of the Deaf.
  • Georgia Health Sciences University: Ferid Murad, director of the Institute for Cellular and Molecular Signaling at George Washington University.
  • Hampden-Sydney College: Verne Lundquist, the sports commentator.
  • Lindsey Wilson College: Wayne Meisel, director of faith and service at the Cousins Foundation, in Atlanta.
  • Marlboro College: Bill McKibben, the author and environmentalist.
  • Ohio Northern University: Clay Mathile, a business executive and philanthropist.
  • Susquehanna University: Fred Grosse, professor of physics and the longest-serving member of the faculty.
  • University of Maryland at Baltimore: Freeman A. Hrabowski III, president of the University of Maryland-Baltimore County.
  • University of Texas at Arlington: James Franco, the actor.
  • University of Wisconsin at Stevens Point: James Kurth, chief of the National Wildlife Refuge System.


Be the first to know.
Get our free daily newsletter.


Back to Top