You have /5 articles left.
Sign up for a free account or log in.

President Obama on Friday named 12 scientists as winners of the National Medal of Science. The honor was created in 1959 and annually salutes excellence in chemistry, engineering, computing, mathematics, or the biological, behavioral/social and physical sciences. This year's winners and their institutions:

  • Allen Bard, University of Texas at Austin
  • Sallie Chisholm, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sidney Drell, Stanford University
  • Sandra Faber, University of California at Santa Cruz
  • Sylvester James Gates, University of Maryland at College Park
  • Solomon Golomb, University of Southern California
  • John Goodenough, University of Texas at Austin
  • M. Frederick Hawthorne, University of Missouri at Columbia
  • Leroy Hood, Institute for Systems Biology in Washington State
  • Barry Mazur, Harvard University
  • Lucy Shapiro, Stanford University
  • Anne Treisman, Princeton University

President Obama also named individuals, a team and a company as winners of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation


  • Frances Arnold, California Institute of Technology
  • George Carruthers, U.S. Naval Research Lab
  • Robert Langer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Norman McCombs, AirSep Corporation
  • Gholam Peyman, Arizona Retinal Specialists
  • Art Rosenfeld, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Jan Vilcek, New York University Langone Medical Center

Team: Samuel Blum, Rangaswamy Srinivasan and James Wynne, all from the IBM Corporation

Company: Raytheon BBN Technologies